Cutting and Polishing the Draft Manuscript

The analogy is cutting and polishing diamonds. Cutting is crucial, and the same applies to a manuscript. In my latest script, the rough draft had an opening chapter that I cut in order to begin at a more important part of the plot. For a diamond, the final polishing of all the facets is a crucial step in determining the quality and beauty of the finished gem. This takes far more time and painstaking attention to detail. I would have to say that this process of polishing the script, editing and re-editing is taking far longer than I expected. But, I guess I am my worst critic and I am at the level of getting ruthless with each word now. Hopefully, the final product will be polished enough to pass the critic test.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar